Author Topic: PSP Slim Invisible Camera ideas and TUT request  (Read 3835 times)

Offline yngmike

• ♪♪♪ Tone deff ♪♪♪
  • Post quality +0/-0
PSP Slim Invisible Camera ideas and TUT request
« on: May 04, 2008, 09:01:08 AM »
Updated   

I am a new PSP owner, and I am really interested in modding my PSP. I am an electronics technician so I feel very confident that I could do many of these mods.

I really have googled around and searched the forum for info but I have been unable to find any info.

Does anyone have a walkthrough or general info on installing the chotto cam into a psp slim (not in the UMD door)  Please see the video by timurmurmur.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RtXybp7PtE4

Even though the vid is of PSP Fat (thanks for comments) It really looks like there is enough room next to the MS duo pro reader ( I have a DAX bundled silver 2001 )

My other idea would involve flipping and modding the extended battery door that would normally go on left side of the case. Most likely use an extacto knife to cut along the seams which are a nice guidline since they match the battery door dimensions. I would use laptop screws as a replacement to the OEM screws, since they are not recessed.

I'm thinking it might be neat to design a sticky ribbon cable that would ajoin to the bottom of the USB port so there wouldnt be any soldering needed on the PCB(similar to how some of the connections in the PSP are made).

Does anyone know if the USB port would still be usable while the Chotto cam is connected via USB? 
I checked the USB-OTG whitepapers and it looks like that in order for the device to be picked up as a host device it needs to have a 15 Ohm pull down on D+ and D- (dang now I gotta buy micro resistors too)

Anyway I'm going to need to think of a sweet way to disconnect 3 maybe 7 connections at once.
I'm thinking maybe pulling a big dipswitch array off an older motherboard thats the smallest switch I can think of that will even come close.

Thanks in advance.