Author Topic: My first modding, Please help! Where do I start?  (Read 4805 times)

Offline EliteGamer83

• Millennium Poster
  • Post quality +0/-0
  • Trusted Seller! Slim Modder! Graphics Artist!
My first modding, Please help! Where do I start?
« on: February 27, 2009, 06:58:48 PM »
Ok, I need some answers/advice from professional modders, this is my first time doing anything like this except for putting a custom faceplate on my PSP slim so I know how to take it apart lol and I need some help to make my plans for this new project work! Ok first things first here are my plans

Back:

Front:

Ok here is what I need to do, get sound LEDs in the triggers, get 2 LEDs inside the UMD door on ether side lighting up the custom jewel, custom orange LEDs for power, wifi, memory card accessing, etc. and dual analog sticks. I also want to be able to turn the LEDs on and off using a switch, wifi or build one in. Now I intend to buy a used PSP to try this so I don't screw up my own lol. PLEASE give me step by step instructions on how to do everything.

The supply's I assume I need:
PSP
flat green spray paint
chrome copper spray paint
yellow/orange LEDs
wire
sodering iron
razor board
analog part
Custom transfer sticker for artwork
custom UMD jewel
custom bullet hole stickers (no gloss)
black spray paint and use newspaper to smudge it and make it look grunge
and probably a extra battery cover incase I screw up on the artwork.

Ok once the cosmetic work is done where do I start? I have a nice workshop with a drill, drill press, precision screw driver set, 100+ sized drill bits, router with pen looking attachment for more precision work, file, solder iron, but I need to practice. But just go ahead and tell me what i need to do, I can bookmark this for later. I've googled but only found crappy tutorials, I need clear info since this is my first modding, but I learn fast and am good at figuring things out.