Author Topic: FPS code concept for controllers  (Read 2012 times)

Offline ksuflash

• Guppy
  • Post quality +0/-0
  • Acidmods User
FPS code concept for controllers
« on: July 19, 2010, 12:45:00 PM »
Please pardon my logic, as it this may sound really stupid, but alas I will still ask the question, and pose my concept idea.

I recently found Acid Mod forums after searching the web for modded controllers.  I started drooling when I found this forum.  I then hopped onto Ebay and bought a PIC programmer, and some chips.

My background is a software analyst.  I test the software that developers write.  Been a tester for something like 15 years now.

Ok so enough introduction.

We have all these cool Rapid Fire Mods, and LED light your controller up mods, but I have yet to see the mod I am about to describe.

I know for sure in Gears of War 2 you can do a thing called "Roadie Run"  kind of like a quick switch of direction when you used to be running forward, then magically you hit a certain sequence of buttons and you about face and sprint backwards.

In Call of Duty, you see these guys jump in the air, immediatley go prone, pop back up, strafe and wipe you out.

So here is the concept....

It is a new button on the controller.  It is programmed to be what I call "The Evade Button"  In the shooter games, when you get into trouble, you press this button and it perfectly times some sort of jump, prone, strafe movement....This may give me a bit more time to line up the shot and take the enemy out.

How many times have we found ourself either running away in a straight line, or running towards a cover object in a straight line. 

This concept would in theory force the enemy to have a difficult time putting the lead into you.

Depending on your controller setup, I am assuming this would require a new wire to the thumb stick controls.