Author Topic: Downing Checking In  (Read 1490 times)

Offline Downing

• Guppy
  • Post quality +0/-0
  • Acidmods User
    • Downing's Basement
Downing Checking In
« on: February 17, 2014, 09:57:32 AM »
Hey everyone, how's it goin? My name is Chris Downing, more commonly known as just "Downing" and I've been a console modder and CNC/3D Printing enthusiast for about 6 years now. Some may know me from other sites, (Old Ben Heck, Mod Retro) and I'm a mod on the Bacman forums (formally made-by-bacteria).

My background is mostly in portable retro console making, though recently I've gotten into more complex projects like multi-system controllers and WHDI. One of my most recent projects was for "The CrossPlane" which was a Kickstarter that I worked on with RDC and Hailrazier. Though it wasn't successful, it really opened my eyes and taught me a lot about 3D printing and CAD, controller hardware, wireless HDMI technology and PCB design.

Right now I'm in the process of finishing up a Cross Plane commission that I started a few months ago. New job and life events have made modding time sparse but once this Cross Plane commission is completed, I'll be getting back into my back log of projects and will start keeping up with work log posts and updates. It's nice to actually have money for the hobby again now that this 10 month unemployment stint has ended!

However, in that time I still got to do some cool things, the coolest being able to hope a plane to Irvine California for a job interview at Oculus VR! Though that didn't pan out, it was still pretty freaking amazing to be in the building and hanging out with a few friends of mine who now work there. I also got a chance to go down to Georgia and work with my friend Hailrazer on the Cross Plane at his place to get the prototype ready for Kickstarter.

So, though a lot of these endeavors were not successful, the fun I had with them was well worth it.