Author Topic: New to repairs; JDM-030 buttons are all mixed  (Read 1670 times)

Offline CaptainDapper

• Guppy
  • Post quality +0/-0
  • Acidmods User
New to repairs; JDM-030 buttons are all mixed
« on: April 28, 2020, 09:00:31 AM »
Almost everything on this board works just fine. Triangle, Square, and X when pressed all seem to press each other at the same time. I suspect there's a resistor that is broken somewhere, but I don't know where to begin. Nothing on the board sticks out to me, but I'm new to the lower-level fixes, so I don't know for sure. I guess I'll just a few questions and see where it goes from there.

Has anyone had this same issue before? Are there any diagrams for button lead resistors/caps for the 30? Could it be something else? The traces look fine, and the ribbon daughter board seems perfectly fine; none of the traces mix or break.

Offline RDC

• Administrator
  • Around the block
  • Post quality +90/-2
  • The CGnome Project
Re: New to repairs; JDM-030 buttons are all mixed
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2020, 04:14:05 PM »
Haven't' seen that issue before, and each button line makes it's own way back to the MCU, so there's really nothing but the contacts and the daughter boards (the plastic flex circuits) then the rubber/silicone pad that sits under the buttons with their contact material.

I'd give everything a good cleaning first with a Q-tip and some rubbing alcohol. All the contacts on the daughter board, the contacts on the button pads, and look over the button pad good, make sure it's not cracked or really worn out. I can't see it being so weak that one button press causes the other 2 to drop far enough to register, but I've seen weirder things.
Screwing up is one of the best learning tools, so long as the only thing you're not learning is how to screw up.

Offline CaptainDapper

• Guppy
  • Post quality +0/-0
  • Acidmods User
« Reply #2 on: April 29, 2020, 08:47:50 PM »