Author Topic: Help with Series 1 Elite Controller  (Read 777 times)

Offline killerfrost

• Guppy
  • Post quality +0/-0
  • Acidmods User
Help with Series 1 Elite Controller
« on: August 13, 2020, 03:34:15 PM »
Hi there, I’m still a beginner at this, so please bear with me. I bought a broken series 1 elite controller from someone online who said “it just stopped working one day.” When I got it, it was clear he had been inside of it and snipped off the rumble motors. I’ve looked through some of the other threads on here, but they didn’t completely match my situation.

The controller doesn’t power on with batteries or via USB to an XB1 or a PC. I’ve messed around a bit with the multimeter trying to measure different capacitors and diodes, but I have no idea what the values of the capacitors are supposed to be. I also read that reading values of capacitors that are still on the board won’t be accurate and should be removed. I don’t want to go around desoldering every component on the board and am hoping there’s an easier method.

Is there a reference sheet somewhere online that has values for these capacitors or is there a way I can figure them out for myself? Does anyone have an idea where I should start looking?

I’m adding photos of the smaller board because I suspect that’s where the problem is. I’ve inspected it with magnification and didn’t see anything obvious, but I don’t have expert eyes. Thanks in advance!

Offline RDC

• Administrator
  • Around the block
  • Post quality +90/-2
  • The CGnome Project
Re: Help with Series 1 Elite Controller
« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2020, 05:29:12 PM »
Capacitor values are the least of that board's issues. There are 3 things I see right off that need addressed long before the caps need checked, and as long as none of them measure shorted they are most likely good.

Q8 looks fried.
L1 possibly has an issue.