Author Topic: Problem with scuf back buttons jdm 030  (Read 983 times)

Offline Seldom

• Guppy
  • Post quality +0/-0
  • Acidmods User
Problem with scuf back buttons jdm 030
« on: May 17, 2021, 04:55:33 PM »
Hello, first of all I want to say thanks for all the help this community is giving to me and secondly I apologize in advance for this long and confusing post but I really miss the electronic basics and technical language.

I've never seen on this forum a topic regarding a scuf controller, so if it is against rules just remove this post. I'm asking for help cause I'm new to this and I really can't understand what I'm doing wrong.

So, I bought a scuf controller with two not remappable backbuttons (X was on left and circle on right) of which the X was perfectly working while the circle backbutton only registered sometimes. I checked the circle switch and it had some small signs on it, for this reason I thought that in order to improve the contact with the metal dome to apply some tin on the circle switch (see image).

Well, after doing it both the backbuttons stopped working but the normal buttons and analogics were still fine.

Then I tried undo what I did and removed as much tin as possible but the most superficial layer, to free the copper, was impossible to remove. My question is, applying the tin on the switch was a stupid move and the reason my backbuttons stopped working?

After all this has happened I noticed that the flex board was cut where there is the ground trace (see image).

So I thought that maybe that was the real cause of the malfunctioning. So I followed the trace and I soldered a wire from the ground pin in the board to another ground pin in the flex board (btw I don't know why there was a pin there)(see image).

After doing this many front buttons stopped working except for some arrows buttons and the analogics. What I'm doing wrong?? Any help is very appreciated
« Last Edit: May 17, 2021, 04:59:54 PM by Seldom »

Offline RDC