Author Topic: Will a new DVD drive cause LIVE ban?  (Read 2730 times)

Offline Amerikun Soljia

• Ω Allumnist Ω
  • Post quality +0/-0
  • Acidmods User
Will a new DVD drive cause LIVE ban?
« on: October 03, 2009, 10:09:14 AM »
Firstly, I am new to Acidmods.com, so if I am posting the wrong way, or in a wrong area, I apologize.
  I have one question. I have a Halo edition xbox 360. I know that it has the Phillips & BenQ disk drive. When I was in Iraq, that drive got destroyed because of the dust and many sandstorms we had. I called Microsoft and they said that if I were to buy a new drive and install it, that once I connected to LIVE I would be banned, because the coding in the drive would be different than the one that is stored on the motherboard of the system, because Microsoft stores the code of the original disk drive there, and the code of the new disk drive would be different, therefore I would be banned for modding.
  But then, a worker at GAMESTOP told me that there is a way to change the code in the motherboard to the code of the new drive. Is there any truth to this? and what can I do to get my 360 running again withought getting banned? please email me or just reply here. I prefer email though. Nicholas.leone2@gmail.com Thanks.

y nomeni patri et fili, y spiritu sancti.

Offline Modded Matt

• Site Owner
  • Administrator
  • Around the block
  • Post quality +65/-3
Re: Will a new DVD drive cause LIVE ban?
« Reply #1 on: October 03, 2009, 05:15:23 PM »
firstly welcome to acidmods.

secondly, what ms told you is half true. if you just swap the drives to wont play any disks due to the coding, but I have never heard of anyone being banned. what you must do is read the code off the drive and flash this code onto a new drive. assuming you still have the old drive, as long as you have the old one you have hope, if you dont you may as well buy a new xbox.