Author Topic: A few questions on paint, dyes and materials  (Read 1636 times)

Offline JumpFalcon

• ½ Pint
  • Post quality +0/-0
A few questions on paint, dyes and materials
« on: December 21, 2008, 06:11:44 AM »
I'm an absolute beginner at painting consoles and stuff. I want to paint my PSP back white but not glossy, so it has the same texture as the PSP back.

I have access to faceplates and sandpaper as well as the paints, I was just wondering what type of paint to use and primers and other coats I'd need.

Thankyou in advance.
« Last Edit: December 22, 2008, 05:56:38 PM by JumpFalcon »

cosmetic mods... :censored: 'em

Offline bustinthejustin

• Registered BST
  • E = MC² Mad Scientist
  • Post quality +1/-0
Re: Painting PSP back
« Reply #1 on: December 21, 2008, 01:34:47 PM »
You'd just need the color of paint that you need (in this case white) some primer... Something light like grey or something, and although a clear coat would protect your paint, I think it leaves sort of a glossy finish. Since you don't want that glossy finish, I guess you shouldn't use clear coat.

Sig by Kenshinffx - Thanks!

Offline JumpFalcon

• ½ Pint
  • Post quality +0/-0
Re: A few questions on paint, dyes and materials
« Reply #2 on: December 22, 2008, 08:16:02 PM »
Thanks!

I have a few more questions. this time on painting my DS original.

- What paint/coat can I use to ensure that I acheive the same texture that it had originally (it wasn't glossy like the DS lite cover but wasn't as rough as the inside of the ds lite

- What can I use to colour the rubber bits inside the ds? Are replacement white rubber bits available?

cosmetic mods... :censored: 'em

Offline Max_Kreeger

• Granny Spanker
  • Post quality +0/-0
Re: A few questions on paint, dyes and materials
« Reply #3 on: December 22, 2008, 08:35:06 PM »
PSP: