Author Topic: Halfway through first mods need some help (Pics)  (Read 1090 times)

Offline Mr. Corpsey

• Chief squatting Hard
  • Post quality +0/-0
Halfway through first mods need some help (Pics)
« on: January 11, 2009, 10:24:09 PM »
First I'd like to say this site is great and help tremendously in my modding. This is my first time doing anything hardware wise to my psp besides faceplate swapping. I'm not new to modding though I have a bunch of soldering experience.

Just a few quick questions:
- Will three millimeter leds from radioshack work for the direct connection sound reactive LED mod? I'm not worried about them fitting, just want to make sure they can be powered by the speakers without draining battery life. They will be yellow for the triggers and i'm not sure what color for the UMD ring of light, I'm open to suggestions.

-I did the USB charge mod and tested it and it works, but I'm worried it will fry something, is the voltage the same as the AC wall power plug?

Here are the mods I'm doing if you're interested
-USB Charge (Done)
-Direct Contact Sound Trigger LED's. (1/2 Done, just have to buy the LED's)
-UMD Door Ring of Light with sound reactive LED's. (1/2 Done, Just need LED's)

I'm using yellow/gold in the triggers, and I haven't decided what for the ROL, so I'm open to suggestions.
PICS:

Offline rceckspurt13

• Acid Modder
  • Post quality +2/-0
Re: Halfway through first mods need some help (Pics)
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2009, 11:15:52 PM »
Yes the speaker can power 3mm with no problem. In fact it will work a 10mm too. Anyway, I would also go with yellow in the umd door. Or mabey red?

And yes the psp gets exactly the same volts through the USB as the ac. Both get 5v. Im told that it wont even fry anything if you plug the usb and the ac in at the same time. Ive tried it  but i wouldent suggest leaving i that way for long. I mostly only charge mine with the USB. USB charging takes longer though but I think it is worth it in the long run.