Author Topic: New to PSP modding, going to start on a 2000 but have some questions  (Read 1840 times)

Offline dd409

• Fart Sniffer
  • Post quality +0/-0
  • Acidmods User
    • Lockerz Invites
Hi, I'm pretty new here (I've been browsing around some of the topics).  I have no real experience hard-modding PSPs, but I do have some circuit, PCB and general EE experience.  I have a couple questions before I dive into modding:

First is a question I got mixed answers on, and I'd like to clarify: can a 3000's screen be used on a 2000's mobo, or would the 2000's mobo not recognize it as a screen?  I'd like to give my 2000 a better screen (scan lines > ghosting IMO) if it's possible.

Second, what would be some good beginner-level mods to try on it?  I'm going to give it shoulder LEDs (probably with either ultraviolet or the massively overused blue, just because they would look good with the silver 2000), and possibly the buttons as well (XO[]/\, the DPad, and the analog, all using replacement crystal buttons) with a variable resistor to control the brightness and a dip switch to turn them on/off (probably have the shoulder buttons and the other buttons independent of each other, on different switches).  I'm kinda toying with the idea of a ring of light jewel for the UMD door, but I'm not sure about that one yet.  What would be some other good mods to do?  I'd like to leave the UMD drive intact for now, but other than that I'm open.

I have a broken 1000 to salvage some parts from.  The face buttons don't really work, but most of the rest of the internal hardware should be fine (the valuable parts--the UMD drive and the screen; along with wifi, all the ports, and speakers--are still fine)

I was thinking I could put the 1000's MS slot inside the 2000 on a dip switch with the outside slot, so that I could switch between the MS slot and some sort of internal memory.  Any other suggestions?