Author Topic: refurbishing a lost 2006 tablet  (Read 2308 times)

Offline The End of A Heartache

• Granny Spanker
  • Post quality +3/-0
  • Mr. Martinez
refurbishing a lost 2006 tablet
« on: April 17, 2012, 09:29:26 AM »
So my dad found this tablet outside of his work place.

He said the guys who cut the lawn at his work found it and didn't know what to do with it so they just gave it to my dad to throw away.

Knowing that i repair computer for a living he calls me up so i can come by and pick it up.

Well i get their expecting an old thinkpad or Compaq something for the late 90's cause all of my dads work stuff is from that era.

Turns out its a one of a kind 2006 tablet made by gateway.

The name on it is called "Motion tablet"

its an LE 1600 series

Problem is, the tablet was rend over.. By what? I don't know but the entire tablet Minus battery is OK i think

How do i know it was run over??

cause it came with this

But the stand was in 4parts with missing keys and a seriously bent lock

Now i checked the entire system through, Not to impressed with the tablet.

Here the specs:

Intel Centrino Pentium M Processor (2MB of L2
cache, 1.60GHz, 400MHz FSB)

Intel 915GMS chipset

Intel 915GMS Extreme graphic
controller with 128MB gfx memory

1.8" ZIF. Hard Disk Drive

Intel PRO/Wireless 2915a/b/g
network connection

Integrated 10/100/1000 Ethernet LAN controller with
RJ-45 connector (Gigabit Ethernet)

Integrated Bluetooth

512MB 400MHz DDR2

So from the list its not all to impressive but being a 2006 product its high end for its standard Minus the processor and RAM

But here the thing. This are the "stock" spec's from motion computing