Author Topic: R/C car robot conversion  (Read 1508 times)

Offline DubbedTheBeast

• Motor Mouth
  • Post quality +0/-0
  • Acidmods User
R/C car robot conversion
« on: September 21, 2010, 10:45:11 PM »
i am starting a project on a traxxas rustler i picked up yesterday to create a self navigating car. now personally i have no radio control experience but i have time to burn by learning something new. now as for my short term plan, i want to first mount 3 wireless cameras. one will be controllable to get better views of things that catch my attention. the other two will be front and back views. that part i can handle easily. now the battery that is used to power the car's electronics has such powerful out-puts, i will not be using it to power the electronics i will be adding to this. for that i plan to add a 12v or so laptop battery that would be more than enough for the cameras and later a second may need to be added to have extended life for when the logic chips, sensors, indicators, servos and extra telemetry circuits are added. it may not be necessary to add the second because the car's battery will normally drain in just a couple hours and the other circuits will only need to last just a bit longer.

now the grand scale of the project will be to have the car itself move from it's starting position to a pre-determined location. now because i have not taken on a project anywhere near this complex i will likely spend a years worth of weekends working out the bugs and researching similar robots.