Author Topic: Hoping to spray paint my N64  (Read 5611 times)

Offline Austin

• Guppy
  • Post quality +0/-0
Hoping to spray paint my N64
« on: February 12, 2008, 01:35:27 PM »
Hello everyone, im fairly new to AcidMods. I wanted to ask a question about how to go about SprayPainting my Nintendo 64. Its a original black N64 and im hoping to spraypaint it sometime soo

I have a 45 mm drill bit and my N64 is opened. Should i just take the hardware out and bring the two pieces of the N64 (top and bottom) somewhere to be painted?

________
Lastly i want to paint my N64 a pure smooth white. Im not going to be doing anything fancy, i just want to spray paint it a nice white. What paint does everyone suggest i use? Should i just use primer? How many coats do i need to put on? And do i need to do anything else to prep my N64.

New to the whole spray painting thing.

Thanks in advance
~Austin

Offline ryan0

• I EAT STUFF
  • Millennium Poster
  • Post quality +0/-0
  • I LIEK CHEEEEZE
Re: Hoping to spray paint my N64
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2008, 05:52:11 PM »
use 2 coat of primer 4 coats of paint and 3 coats of cleargloss and u will get an awesome finish,and remember dude i mean light coats,if the 1st coats of paint doesnt completely drown out the colour of the primer then dont worry the next one will,so dont go painting loads on at once,4 light coats gives a way better finish than 2 heavy coats always remember that
Derp.

Offline Reaper

• Fear the Reaper!
  • Acidmods Alumni
  • Around the block
  • Post quality +1/-0
  • Fear the Reaper
« Reply #2 on: February 12, 2008, 09:30:38 PM »
Remember when spray painting to start spraying off the plastic and sweep over it to the complete other side, going off their as well.  This will prevent any uneven buildup.  If you feel comfortable taking out all the hardware then by all means go right ahead and paint the case without fear!

Offline MattZani

• Around the block
  • Post quality +0/-0
  • Matthew Dear
    • DeviantArt