Author Topic: pleans help, my fattie needs surgery!  (Read 1049 times)

Offline sledger

• Guppy
  • Post quality +0/-0
pleans help, my fattie needs surgery!
« on: July 21, 2008, 02:32:26 AM »
howdy, mornin, and thanks for reading. im new to moddin, but i think i can quickly get the hang of it. i have a fat and slim psp, but my fattie got run over by a truck and left submerged in a puddle overnight. the back door wont stay shut anymore, wich i can jerry rig easily enough, but the screen seems to be having problems communicating with the unit. the back lighting, which im smart enough to know is the little pig tail, still works, but the screen will not project any images, not even a twitch on startup. ive found a replacement screen for $40 on ebay, but im wondering if it will work, or if i will be sorely disapointed and may as well keep my money. i really want to mod out my fattie, it seems to be a little easier than the slims to work with plus its already seen hell and almost walked out, i was amazed i could get it to start up again and even play music under charger power after some blind trial and error. i want to install some custom leds and a custom umd door, and experiment with some etching ideas i have, but i need a working unit to start with, so if anybody can tell me some testing procedures or maybe just knows what i need to replace/repair, it would be greatly apreciated. and while im thinking about it, where do most people get their parts and tools for the "major surgery mods?" i cant find a low voltage soldering iron. ps, killer website, i really like most of the mods ive seen and hope to create some of my own to someday show off.

Offline ApheX

• Club AM VIP
  • Millennium Poster
  • Post quality +1/-0
  • PSP And PSP Slim Case/Hardware Modder
    • ApheX MoDs
Re: pleans help, my fattie needs surgery!
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2008, 05:03:15 AM »