Author Topic: LED Longboard  (Read 13909 times)

Offline Havoced

• ½ Pint
  • Post quality +0/-0
  • Modaholic
LED Longboard
« on: September 28, 2009, 03:01:55 AM »
Hello all!

I came up with the idea of adding a pattern of LED's to the bottom of my longboard the other night while almost getting run down on my way home from work. This is something that happens probably once or twice a month, I will be in crosswalks, bike lanes or crossing the street and drivers just don't like to look out for me. Luckily I'm quite aware of my surroundings because I feel it's my responsibility as a pedestrian.

Anyways, I want to add LED's to the bottom of my longboard. I have zero soldering experience but I plan on buying an iron tomorrow and following some tutorials from this wonderful website.

I was thinking I would use a tool of some form (Dremel?) to carve a pattern into the bottom of my deck. The pattern would have to be deep enough to have LED's sit flush with the remaining uncarved surface of the board for aesthetic purposes. I would wire everything up to the smallest power source I could (rechargeable or inexpensive to replace preferable) which would also sit as flush with the board as possible.

I will be sanding down the art and painting something new after the LED install because I will obviously be carving lines all throughout the bottom destroying the current artwork. As for the new artwork/pattern I've tossed a few ideas around including an all white bottom with a red LED Rising Sun, or an all black bottom with a blue lightbulb.

I'm basically hoping a few kind members might have some suggestions or experience with similar projects that they might bestow upon me. What sort of tools might I need? What LED's would work best for my project?

Let me know and I'll keep you posted with progress pictures!

The Before Picture:

Offline frenulem - No.5417

• Ultimate Badass
  • Blogs & Media Team
  • Acid Modder
  • Post quality +23/-0