Author Topic: concept how to make psptouch screen  (Read 66118 times)

Offline 1TONpete

  • Millennium Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 1224
  • Post quality +47/-2
  • Sony specialist
Re: concept how to make psptouch screen
« Reply #120 on: January 24, 2011, 01:03:31 PM »
can we please include a mic? pretty sure that's just something to do with a/v stuff. I got like 5 or 6 different cell phone mics just layin' around.

Offline galaxy3arth

  • Ω Allumnist Ω
  • *
  • Posts: 104
  • Post quality +0/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • ninja
Re: concept how to make psptouch screen
« Reply #121 on: January 24, 2011, 01:29:06 PM »
yeah any thing else that wont even need the avr there are already mic pins on SIO for av

Offline TokyoDrift

  • Motor Mouth
  • *
  • Posts: 95
  • Post quality +0/-0
  • Gender: Male
    • TokyoDrift's Development Blog
Re: concept how to make psptouch screen
« Reply #122 on: January 24, 2011, 01:39:54 PM »
Quote
for the reset to load into boot loader mode we can just take the reset pin and connect it to an IO pin so that the AVR program can give voltage to the reset to get into boot-loader mode after a signal for that pin is received could you guys do this.
why would we do that? we can just trigger the watchdog to perform a software reset

Offline 1TONpete

  • Millennium Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 1224
  • Post quality +47/-2
  • Sony specialist
Re: concept how to make psptouch screen
« Reply #123 on: January 24, 2011, 02:18:56 PM »
Thinking about how inclusive this mod has become and ,since we still have open pins on our avr. led controller maybe? can chotto be adapted? Just thinking about the other more popular mods out there.
if we're done with adding hardware I'd like to get started on code. I'll start with analog nub script and see how far i get. someone want to start brain storming input examples for touch.
« Last Edit: January 24, 2011, 04:18:31 PM by denali31004 »

Offline galaxy3arth

  • Ω Allumnist Ω
  • *
  • Posts: 104
  • Post quality +0/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • ninja
Re: concept how to make psptouch screen
« Reply #124 on: January 24, 2011, 06:20:00 PM »
Here is the schematic (nobody gave me the eagle libraries for the attiny84mlf so its in paint)

just needs booster for battery thats it
all done  :hifive:

chose the 16mhz crystal the top speed for the AVR is 20mhz ,but no need to go there.

Post Merge: January 24, 2011, 06:23:18 PM
next order of operation
1. bootloaders for USI
2. AVR code in assembler ( i cant do this)
3. plugin/ psp side of things
4. extras

Post Merge: January 24, 2011, 06:26:30 PM
any volunteers?

Post Merge: January 24, 2011, 06:34:29 PM
just thought about this but modding with a purpose is engineering. its more respectable to the public.
« Last Edit: January 24, 2011, 06:34:30 PM by galaxy3arth »

Offline 1TONpete

  • Millennium Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 1224
  • Post quality +47/-2
  • Sony specialist
Re: concept how to make psptouch screen
« Reply #125 on: January 24, 2011, 07:44:19 PM »
 :hifive: nice job, very clean. Me and my coders will get right to work. I already know how to write the analog nub. reading the touch just takes a lil modification to the original code from sparkfun. On the psp side of things this is where stuff gets funny. the addresses are all in hex. Are we installing this onto the kernal or are we going to create a new device io? I think we should add a new device io , then we dont need to mess with the psp's flash. everything can go on m.s. these questions make a big difference in code.
"just thought about this but modding with a purpose is engineering. its more respectable to the public." -agreed. Also this more like accessory dev than a mod. I cant wait till the cfw guys get a hold of this.
« Last Edit: January 24, 2011, 07:48:50 PM by denali31004 »

Offline TokyoDrift

  • Motor Mouth
  • *
  • Posts: 95
  • Post quality +0/-0
  • Gender: Male
    • TokyoDrift's Development Blog
Re: concept how to make psptouch screen
« Reply #126 on: January 25, 2011, 04:34:52 AM »
if you don't know what you're doing, forget about making the AVR code
you can't just copy n paste some scripts, everything has to be made for working together, otherwise you won't fit the size and speed requirements

@schematics: still no voltage boost, we need testpads for RESET, GND and VCC, the testpads don't necessarily have to be close to each other if that makes routing easier, PSP SIO doesn't share VCC with AVR, only GND is used (+ TX + RX)

I'd use an oscillator instead of a crystal bc smd oscillators are smaller I think
we'll see about the freq when the avr code is done

idk how the analog interface works, information on that, anyone?

on the PSP side you should make a kernel plugin that provides an interface for the touchscreen
no device or anything, just the plugin with the exports
and i guess it has to do some hooking for using the second analog stick

Offline 1TONpete

  • Millennium Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 1224
  • Post quality +47/-2
  • Sony specialist
Re: concept how to make psptouch screen
« Reply #127 on: January 25, 2011, 04:45:45 AM »
The code for the touch w avr is in script form before it gets put on the avr. I wasnt saying copy paste, I'm saying the code is very similar, we have to change addresses, but the basics of the code are the same.
example.  the code sampled from sparkfun tells us that 2 of the pins on the avr need to be floating back and forth between gd and 5v. this is so we can read the x and the y positions of the touch.
 But Im not an avr guy, but I do understand some code. The psp side Is where i shine. The easiest and best way to install plugins is to add another device io . The psp can be told then that when this device is being used, use "x" plugin at "y" address. We can install this anywhere w cfw. but with ofw it has to be a new device io.
 forget device io we'll just write it for cfw. make a plugin for the kernal. If anyone has questions about coding on the psp side see the tyranids' link posted on page 4 of this thread .
Just a thought we can simplify and come up with a proof on concept without creating a plugin. uart can communicate hex correct? why not map out certain positions on the screen for touch versions of buttons on the avr side. then just send the appropriate hex for button being pressed. This is how the remote works. But like I said b4 about the device io, the remote has its own device io. when communication happens over the sio, each device has an id.  so the psp knows what device its talking with.
I know this isnt a solution to in game play but it is a proof of concept.
The analog doesnt need to read like a regular analog stick. since they are being mapped to buttons . the analog signal is converted to a hex code that how much you push in a direction on analog the signal is sent as a button press for x"" amount of time. "x" being the amount of x or y movement. hold nub in one direction and hold that appropriate button down. the code to the psp is just hex.
« Last Edit: January 25, 2011, 05:32:13 AM by denali31004 »

Offline TokyoDrift

  • Motor Mouth
  • *
  • Posts: 95
  • Post quality +0/-0
  • Gender: Male
    • TokyoDrift's Development Blog
Re: concept how to make psptouch screen
« Reply #128 on: January 25, 2011, 05:27:59 AM »
i have no clue what you mean by saying new device IO? so you can use it by calling sceIoFileOpen("touch0:/"); ? Why would you do that? You can just make a library that exports functions, just like sceCtrl with it's sceCtrlReadButtons function.

I'd make the avr code in asm since it's a tiny

using the remote protocol is way more complicated than just building our own plugin
« Last Edit: January 25, 2011, 05:29:28 AM by TokyoDrift »

Offline 1TONpete

  • Millennium Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 1224
  • Post quality +47/-2
  • Sony specialist
Re: concept how to make psptouch screen
« Reply #129 on: January 25, 2011, 05:49:08 AM »
lets go back and look at how the neo did it. it used uart and works with cfw. , not sure but is the 3axis accelerometer analog? All the code for this device is freeware and we can use that to see how they addressed the communication to the psp.
the neo uses  sceCtrl. Tokyo you where right.
neo source code found here http://www.neoflash.com/forum/index.php/topic,4762.0.html  scroll down to download . It shows exactly how its done.
I'm wondering what new cfw could be like w this in it.
Can someone help by going over to ps2dev.com. Tokyo I believe you have an account there?  The guys to help with the code are there.
Find tyranid send him a message. I can't log in and I can't create a new account. IDK why.
« Last Edit: January 25, 2011, 07:34:06 AM by denali31004 »

Offline TokyoDrift

  • Motor Mouth
  • *
  • Posts: 95
  • Post quality +0/-0
  • Gender: Male
    • TokyoDrift's Development Blog
Re: concept how to make psptouch screen
« Reply #130 on: January 25, 2011, 07:36:36 AM »
lol
I won't send tyranid a message
srsly, that guy is a pro, he's got better things to do
pls don't bother him with this

if you want help with all this, I can help you, but I'm quite busy at the moment, I can help you in some weeks maybe, have to finish a project for school first though (hardware to drive a psp display :), in a CPLD)

Offline galaxy3arth

  • Ω Allumnist Ω
  • *
  • Posts: 104
  • Post quality +0/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • ninja
Re: concept how to make psptouch screen
« Reply #131 on: January 25, 2011, 08:02:05 AM »
I will add the occilator and the testpads they are a easy fix 

Post Merge: January 25, 2011, 08:02:28 AM
oh yeah and the booster


Post Merge: January 25, 2011, 08:06:14 AM
yeah sounds good tokyo we. if you could make a good code for the AVR that would be awsome.
since the AVR is basically the base of this project if it doesnt work right nothing else will.
« Last Edit: January 25, 2011, 08:06:14 AM by galaxy3arth »

Offline 1TONpete

  • Millennium Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 1224
  • Post quality +47/-2
  • Sony specialist
Re: concept how to make psptouch screen
« Reply #132 on: January 25, 2011, 08:15:25 AM »
As far as contacting Tyranid , It wouldn't hurt to ask. Especially if you can't be bothered to help us. You have gotten very far with the dev w your projects. And I know you know what your doing, But this guy is a god.
So let me get this straight you won't help with the code until your project is done and you won't ask for help.
This better not be an ego thing.
I don't mind waiting, if you are going to help. I'm just making sure your intentions are good.
« Last Edit: January 25, 2011, 08:19:37 AM by denali31004 »

Offline galaxy3arth

  • Ω Allumnist Ω
  • *
  • Posts: 104
  • Post quality +0/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • ninja
Re: concept how to make psptouch screen
« Reply #133 on: January 25, 2011, 08:23:15 AM »
agreed  this has to happen. :drunk:
but to keep the thread together we cant assume its about ego

Offline 1TONpete

  • Millennium Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 1224
  • Post quality +47/-2
  • Sony specialist
Re: concept how to make psptouch screen
« Reply #134 on: January 25, 2011, 08:32:56 AM »
Im not assuming anything. I am not laying judgment either. WE need to create a plugin that handles  vsh,game,pops and i know tyranid knows how to create it. So why wouldn't we ask him how?
Not to mention someone who's that into dev on psp like he is would want to see the psptouch in action. I think he would be very pleased with the challenge .
« Last Edit: January 25, 2011, 08:35:34 AM by denali31004 »

Offline galaxy3arth

  • Ω Allumnist Ω
  • *
  • Posts: 104
  • Post quality +0/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • ninja
Re: concept how to make psptouch screen
« Reply #135 on: January 25, 2011, 08:44:15 AM »
go ahead and ask then.

Post Merge: January 25, 2011, 08:51:28 AM
I do think we can just wait for tokyo to finish his project. I am still in school I just dont have any thing big to work on right now.

Post Merge: January 25, 2011, 09:00:31 AM
what model battery are we planning to use cause I kind like the first concept of the touch screen setup  that plugs in the bottom just might want to make it thinner. have to choose a battery that is the shape we want, voltage and lasts as long as possible.
 I dont think we need a design meant for internals the pcb is small enough and the places for soudering are big enough to just souder another serial port on the inside of the psp.
 the only thing I thinkwould be cool would be to have a version that was not set up to run with battery maybe with a test pads so it could be hooked up with the five volts from the psp internals.

Post Merge: January 25, 2011, 09:03:56 AM
for the AVR coding I think we should just let tokyo do it this is kinda his thing. assembler is the best way to code the AVR.


Post Merge: January 25, 2011, 09:09:10 AM
I  think what we are doing is pro level. 
« Last Edit: January 25, 2011, 09:09:10 AM by galaxy3arth »

Offline 1TONpete

  • Millennium Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 1224
  • Post quality +47/-2
  • Sony specialist
Re: concept how to make psptouch screen
« Reply #136 on: January 25, 2011, 09:43:28 AM »
for the battery "k.i.s.s." ,2x"A.A.".
 2x"A.A." socket here
http://www.sparkfun.com/products/8249
edit:sorry this wont work>
might try to find long version to make it slimmer.
doing it this way keeps cost down and user can replace batteries easily.
Woking on updating previous design to show layout of internals.
update check this out
« Last Edit: January 25, 2011, 10:11:05 AM by denali31004 »

Offline TokyoDrift

  • Motor Mouth
  • *
  • Posts: 95
  • Post quality +0/-0
  • Gender: Male
    • TokyoDrift's Development Blog
Re: concept how to make psptouch screen
« Reply #137 on: January 25, 2011, 11:23:42 AM »
ha
this is not about me being on an ego trip, not at all
tyranid just doesn't care about that kind of thing, at least I highly doubt he does
he's a hacker, he's probably into PS3 right now
he's a god, true, why would he care about this?
if you want to ask him, go for it, but don't expect an answer...

yes, I won't make any code until I'm done with my own project because it's just more important, sorry, but I need good marks rather than a touchscreen on my psp

Quote
WE need to create a plugin that handles  vsh,game,pops
what do you want? hooking scectrl or your own interface?

Offline 1TONpete

  • Millennium Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 1224
  • Post quality +47/-2
  • Sony specialist
Re: concept how to make psptouch screen
« Reply #138 on: January 25, 2011, 11:38:30 AM »
Just so you know Tokyo I wasn't busting your ballz, I just wanted to make sure of your motives.I will take your word for it. You got stuff to do,ok, I just don't want to wait and end up with nothing. If you can help on the avr side of things great. If you can help on the psp side even better. In the mean time , I'm working on learning lua. I would like our own interface, but thats asking a lot. hooking scectrl Sounds like it might help w proof of concept.

Offline TokyoDrift

  • Motor Mouth
  • *
  • Posts: 95
  • Post quality +0/-0
  • Gender: Male
    • TokyoDrift's Development Blog
Re: concept how to make psptouch screen
« Reply #139 on: January 25, 2011, 11:51:06 AM »
actually the own interface is easier, problem is, only homebrews made to work with the touchscreen will be able to use it

Offline 1TONpete

  • Millennium Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 1224
  • Post quality +47/-2
  • Sony specialist
Re: concept how to make psptouch screen
« Reply #140 on: January 25, 2011, 12:10:09 PM »
Than hooking it is. We're going to need to be able to use everything in vsh,game,pops. Please have a look at the neo stuff. The neo stuff as all the features we need.

Offline galaxy3arth

  • Ω Allumnist Ω
  • *
  • Posts: 104
  • Post quality +0/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • ninja
Re: concept how to make psptouch screen
« Reply #141 on: January 25, 2011, 12:13:02 PM »
yeah hes right for commercial games generic controlls can be set to the touch screen if we use a plugin , but lets say for instance you were on the ingame menu of a commercial game it would be very difficult to have it so you could lets say tap what on the menu you wanted it would be very difficult.
but if you want to attemp this read the essay I wrote at the begining of this thread those are the concepts you would have to apply.
I know it would work if you could do it ,but it would be very game specific like the psp3d plugin. I think haveing generic control schemes for games and a way to remap them while in game would be awsome.

Post Merge: January 25, 2011, 12:26:04 PM
not quite all  ,because we would have to add more complex control schemes to that you know touch zones and all. because I dont want to touch the screen on the right and have the game go to the right. I want to slide my finger to the right and have the game go left.
   

I think we should come up with a list of control functions we want it to have.
nothing over the top but thing like:
have a variable circle pattern mappable
double tap
variable speed and location drag for up down left right directions
sectional zones with all of these incorporated.(so that if I drag down on upper right corner it will be different than a drag on the lower right corner.)

the sectional control is not a need but stuff like that could be added as a bonus.
the variable speed and location drag and the double tap are a need for me.

list any other control schemes you would want here.

and actually would it be possible to have a app for psp where you can create generalized mappable macros of the analog values you draw? you know like it records what you draw and you choose whether it has location and speed constaints and all?

Post Merge: January 25, 2011, 12:27:58 PM
this would be after hooking. a plugin
« Last Edit: January 25, 2011, 12:27:58 PM by galaxy3arth »

Offline 1TONpete

  • Millennium Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 1224
  • Post quality +47/-2
  • Sony specialist
Re: concept how to make psptouch screen
« Reply #142 on: January 25, 2011, 12:29:57 PM »
Thats what the neo stuff does.it sets up basic parameters and allows for user presets and control of sensitivity . But remaps are done in "if" statements. I think Im up to the task of starting the code . second nub can be directly mapped to the o^[]x no problem. In game menu i have no idea. Creating custom remaps related to individual game code possible. I think the plugin for vsh should be as simple as possible. But irshell could make it so you just tap on the shortcut you want on the screen. As irshell shortcuts have predetermined positions on the screen. Why not write this and design it to work w irshell?
« Last Edit: January 25, 2011, 12:30:48 PM by denali31004 »

Offline galaxy3arth

  • Ω Allumnist Ω
  • *
  • Posts: 104
  • Post quality +0/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • ninja
Re: concept how to make psptouch screen
« Reply #143 on: January 25, 2011, 12:32:20 PM »
the design you have... I think we should still flip the screen so the ribbon cable goes around the back side of the psp ,because even if internalized it would still get in the home rows way. cant we just flip the screen backwards and write the code to work that way.

Post Merge: January 25, 2011, 12:35:02 PM
IR shell and vsh  :yess:
in game menus and other highly specific stuff  :dntknw: probably  :sadno:
customizable general game controls  :yess:
« Last Edit: January 25, 2011, 12:35:26 PM by galaxy3arth »

Offline 1TONpete

  • Millennium Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 1224
  • Post quality +47/-2
  • Sony specialist
Re: concept how to make psptouch screen
« Reply #144 on: January 25, 2011, 12:41:35 PM »
the orientation doesnt matter just write the code that way.
but if you look here.
 the red box is where the ribbon cable would come out of the psp. we would slide the ribbon cable under the homebar. this is not exact but just to give you an idea.
« Last Edit: January 25, 2011, 12:42:28 PM by denali31004 »

Offline galaxy3arth

  • Ω Allumnist Ω
  • *
  • Posts: 104
  • Post quality +0/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • ninja
Re: concept how to make psptouch screen
« Reply #145 on: January 25, 2011, 12:46:00 PM »
the easiest way from my point of view would be to write instead of if. write the remaps and presets in piece wise mathematical equations. you know like the circle use the formula for a circle on a graph x2+y2=c then give it a variable c and a width now any size circle will work and it doesnt have to be perfect. though it does have to be somewhat around the center. for a cirle that could be drawn anywhere it would probably use the circle with a non 0,0 origin formula ( (x+b)2+(y+a)2=c) you know what I mean use math

Post Merge: January 25, 2011, 12:48:51 PM
oh OK I see what you mean. :hifive:
 as for the code its your choice whether to use math or IF cause I dont know how to code for either.

Post Merge: January 25, 2011, 12:50:07 PM
the statement above probably sounds retarded :x:
« Last Edit: January 25, 2011, 12:50:07 PM by galaxy3arth »

Offline 1TONpete

  • Millennium Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 1224
  • Post quality +47/-2
  • Sony specialist
Re: concept how to make psptouch screen
« Reply #146 on: January 25, 2011, 12:56:32 PM »
the only difference with irshell we write a separate cfg for the shell. It would use the same plugins just not the vsh stuff.
the reasoning behind the if statements is we can be playing game normally and switch between control types using "if" logic.
« Last Edit: January 25, 2011, 12:59:09 PM by denali31004 »

Offline galaxy3arth

  • Ω Allumnist Ω
  • *
  • Posts: 104
  • Post quality +0/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • ninja
Re: concept how to make psptouch screen
« Reply #147 on: January 25, 2011, 01:01:38 PM »
OK that makes since.then the math based logic and the If logic can be used together. its the only way I know how to say this. I just cant think of a easier way to use complex motion with little code. math could probably be used for the variable speed ,and by variable speed I mean variable sensitivity or if I drag faster it acts as though for that moment the sensitivity is higher ,and if I drag slow it treats it like the sensitivity is lower.
just want to avoid misunderstandings.
« Last Edit: January 25, 2011, 01:06:57 PM by galaxy3arth »

Offline 1TONpete

  • Millennium Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 1224
  • Post quality +47/-2
  • Sony specialist
Re: concept how to make psptouch screen
« Reply #148 on: January 25, 2011, 01:16:23 PM »
Did some thinking on vsh stuff. Check out custom theme horizony2. cxmb is needed. anyways i was thinking about how to select something in vsh. started plaing in my custom themes to find something that looked simple to control found horizony. A slide motion left or right navigates left or right in menu same applies to up and down. sel is funny but i get it. as you move left and right what you want to select will always have the same position depending on where you are in the menu.  example go to where your games are and as you move up and down the highlighted game is always at the same position on the screen. So predetermined x,y positions exist if we touch on that position simulate x press. check out the vid to see what im saying.
marianard_2008 - DSCF5051.mp4
When i have an extra set of hands,either when my wife gets home or someone stops in , Ill do a touch demo in xmb.
marianard_2008 - DSCF5052.mp4
thanks to my wife Erin for being my camera person.
« Last Edit: January 25, 2011, 05:26:18 PM by denali31004 »

Offline galaxy3arth

  • Ω Allumnist Ω
  • *
  • Posts: 104
  • Post quality +0/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • ninja
Re: concept how to make psptouch screen
« Reply #149 on: January 25, 2011, 02:16:46 PM »
seeing this did make me realize that atleast in xmb we will hve to make drag down = up
and drag up = down.


kinda sucks I finished my part of this already I cant really do much more except give input and information on stuff. the rest of this is for the most part up to you guys.
 I think I will make an awsome concept sketch of it though XD



Post Merge: January 25, 2011, 02:26:01 PM
hey I know this is off topic and will sound retarded but are the colors on the names like level ups or something there seems to be a pattern in its change. wow this sounds dumb  :confused:

Post Merge: January 25, 2011, 02:32:11 PM
is the booster for the battery really needed it sounds like its only for larger circuits? or is it to be a just in case?

http://www.electrokits.com/Datasheets/7805-Datasheet

this is the link to the booster we will use so in this last schematic when you see 7805 it means the booster

the rest is the same though unlabled.

this is about actual size "above"
this is zoomed in "below"



Post Merge: January 25, 2011, 05:15:05 PM
I know the test pads definitely have to be bigger

Post Merge: January 25, 2011, 05:19:46 PM
now that I see it in actual size how are you gonna souder this? I mean its a great size , the only thing that will get bigger is the oscillator and the test pads.  this is  :censored: tiny


Post Merge: January 25, 2011, 05:22:58 PM
Noooooo problems in size. maybe we send a PCB company our designs and parts then let them make it. cant cost that much.
« Last Edit: January 25, 2011, 05:23:04 PM by galaxy3arth »

 

SMF spam blocked by CleanTalk
SimplePortal 2.3.5 © 2008-2012, SimplePortal