Author Topic: Phantom's 360 controller  (Read 5331 times)

Offline Phantom

  • Club AM VIP
  • Granny Spanker
  • *
  • Posts: 355
  • Post quality +11/-1
  • Gender: Male
Phantom's 360 controller
« on: August 03, 2011, 05:59:48 AM »


wireless cg controller
wired controller bottom shell
internal batterys, recharged thru pnc cable
keeping rumble packs (or swap them out for smaller ones)
crapid fire (maybe with ICSP mini usb jack?)
abxy LED's
abxy flasher code
some other suprises
plus anything else i can cram into this thing...

 :cool:
« Last Edit: August 03, 2011, 09:45:45 PM by phantomz0 »

Offline magic_man185

  • Who Farted ???
  • *
  • Posts: 229
  • Post quality +16/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • Acidmods User
Re: Phantom's 360 controller. dunno what to call it yet
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2011, 07:19:50 AM »
Be careful with ICSP, you have to make sure to isolate the programming voltage from the controller, to make sure nothing gets fried.  If you have the pins to spare, it would probably be good to not use GPIO 3 at all for your rapid fire (as this is the pin that would have ~13V going to it during ICSP).

Offline Phantom

  • Club AM VIP
  • Granny Spanker
  • *
  • Posts: 355
  • Post quality +11/-1
  • Gender: Male
Re: Phantom's 360 controller. dunno what to call it yet
« Reply #2 on: August 03, 2011, 07:38:25 AM »
the burnmeup wiring has pin 8 connected to GPIO/MCLR for it to work properly, so im going to try use a transistor as a switch to isolate those 2 pins when the controller is off.

Offline magic_man185

  • Who Farted ???
  • *
  • Posts: 229
  • Post quality +16/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • Acidmods User
Re: Phantom's 360 controller. dunno what to call it yet
« Reply #3 on: August 03, 2011, 07:53:30 AM »
The burnmeup code used pin 5, GPIO 3, as an identifier to tell the code if you had a matrix or CG controller. If you look at the diagrams, it has pin 5 connected to power for Matrix, and ground for CG.  The better route would be to use the initialization from the GameplayRF code, which uses the ADC to determine the controller type, and the rest of the code from burnmeup.  Of course, this would mean combining it yourself and compiling it, if you are able to do so.

Offline Phantom

  • Club AM VIP
  • Granny Spanker
  • *
  • Posts: 355
  • Post quality +11/-1
  • Gender: Male
Re: Phantom's 360 controller. dunno what to call it yet
« Reply #4 on: August 03, 2011, 08:06:01 AM »
the code would still be able to tell if its cg or matrix with the transistor connected though wouldnt it? the pins would only be isolated when the controller is off, then everything back to normal while the controller has power? hmmmm, id rather use the burnmeup with ICSP, as there are so many other codes that use the same wiring.

Offline magic_man185

  • Who Farted ???
  • *
  • Posts: 229
  • Post quality +16/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • Acidmods User
Re: Phantom's 360 controller. dunno what to call it yet
« Reply #5 on: August 03, 2011, 08:08:43 AM »
How are you planning to control the transistor?

Offline Phantom

  • Club AM VIP
  • Granny Spanker
  • *
  • Posts: 355
  • Post quality +11/-1
  • Gender: Male
Re: Phantom's 360 controller. dunno what to call it yet
« Reply #6 on: August 03, 2011, 08:23:23 AM »
connecting the base to a switched voltage on the controller, then emitter/collecter to the pin5/pin8. there is probably a resistor needed in there somewhere as i really only know the basics (if that) of how transistors work, i did have a diagram i drew up on my laptop, but its 1:23am here and i cbf getting it

Offline magic_man185

  • Who Farted ???
  • *
  • Posts: 229
  • Post quality +16/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • Acidmods User
Re: Phantom's 360 controller. dunno what to call it yet
« Reply #7 on: August 03, 2011, 08:31:44 AM »
Yea I think that should probably work (transistors aren't my strong suit either).  Keep in mind to connect to power or ground depending on the type of controller.  Obviously you would want to make sure you NEVER programmed the controller with it powered on, because one time might be enough to fry it.

Offline Phantom

  • Club AM VIP
  • Granny Spanker
  • *
  • Posts: 355
  • Post quality +11/-1
  • Gender: Male
Re: Phantom's 360 controller
« Reply #8 on: August 03, 2011, 10:06:41 PM »
i updated the first post with pics, heres what im going to try with the transistor, with a resistor between the base and switched 2v maybe? anyone know if itl work?


Offline hyper999

  • Acidmods Alumni
  • Millennium Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 1158
  • Post quality +544/-3
  • Research and Development
Re: Phantom's 360 controller
« Reply #9 on: August 04, 2011, 12:14:55 PM »
If you are installing on a matrix controller for the MCLR pin you can use a diode in place of the jumper to isolate the 5v from the 12v

EDIT: Just an idea but could you maybe just have a switch that switches the ground pin of the PIC between the programmer and the controller?
« Last Edit: August 04, 2011, 12:58:18 PM by hyper999 »

Offline magic_man185

  • Who Farted ???
  • *
  • Posts: 229
  • Post quality +16/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • Acidmods User
Re: Phantom's 360 controller
« Reply #10 on: August 04, 2011, 01:43:42 PM »
I had thought about doing this a couple years ago, and I was wondering if a diode would work, just forgot about it, lol.

Offline Phantom

  • Club AM VIP
  • Granny Spanker
  • *
  • Posts: 355
  • Post quality +11/-1
  • Gender: Male
Re: Phantom's 360 controller
« Reply #11 on: August 05, 2011, 12:23:19 AM »
i think ill just use a little switch to seperate the 2 pins when i want to program it, what is all this about a diode? im lost.

just to make sure, the MCLR pin is the only thing i have to worry about? everything else is OK connected to the controller while programming right?

cheers guys

Offline hyper999

  • Acidmods Alumni
  • Millennium Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 1158
  • Post quality +544/-3
  • Research and Development
Re: Phantom's 360 controller
« Reply #12 on: August 05, 2011, 12:22:49 PM »
i think ill just use a little switch to seperate the 2 pins when i want to program it, what is all this about a diode? im lost.

just to make sure, the MCLR pin is the only thing i have to worry about? everything else is OK connected to the controller while programming right?

cheers guys

Maybe, dunno :P
 I'm not sure how the controller would like being given 5v on the positive battery terminal, and also how having the controller connected might interfere with the data lines.

Offline Phantom

  • Club AM VIP
  • Granny Spanker
  • *
  • Posts: 355
  • Post quality +11/-1
  • Gender: Male
Re: Phantom's 360 controller
« Reply #13 on: August 15, 2011, 09:14:12 PM »
i may ditch the ICSP idea, im going to try it on another controller first.

im thinking about painting a clear shell leaving see through bits with LED's shining through.


Offline hyper999

  • Acidmods Alumni
  • Millennium Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 1158
  • Post quality +544/-3
  • Research and Development
Re: Phantom's 360 controller
« Reply #14 on: August 16, 2011, 06:01:32 AM »
i like those buttons, did you buy them like that?

Offline Rodent

  • XBOX,XBOX360,PS3,WII
  • Acidmods Alumni
  • Around the block
  • *
  • Posts: 2983
  • Post quality +75/-5
  • Gender: Male
  • MODDER, REPAIR, CUSTOM IDEAS.
Re: Phantom's 360 controller
« Reply #15 on: August 16, 2011, 07:34:55 AM »
i may ditch the ICSP idea, im going to try it on another controller first.

im thinking about painting a clear shell leaving see through bits with LED's shining through.


that would look awsome, nice work cant wait to see it when its done.

i like those buttons, did you buy them like that?
AGREE ;)

 Tracey: I cant believe Rodent of all people made my damn day
3D0: snacks cartoons and naps  lol sounds like rodents typcial day :rofl:
Rodent consoles mods

Offline phenoptix

  • Motor Mouth
  • *
  • Posts: 89
  • Post quality +2/-0
  • Acidmods User
    • Phenoptix
Re: Phantom's 360 controller
« Reply #16 on: October 12, 2011, 08:31:17 AM »
The white out buttons are nice. Did you get them from us or another seller? We stock the thumbsticks too. Did you finish the lighting? I did a similar mod lighting them in the original colours as well as a white guide button lit green. Want to stencil an X to complete the mod really.

 

SMF spam blocked by CleanTalk
SimplePortal 2.3.5 © 2008-2012, SimplePortal