Author Topic: JDM-055 Power Issue  (Read 4870 times)

Offline RepairNoob

• Guppy
  • Post quality +0/-0
  • Acidmods User
JDM-055 Power Issue
« on: May 12, 2020, 02:40:11 PM »
Hello,

I've attempting to venture into more advanced controller repair. My experience consistent mostly of replacing charge ports, analog sticks etc...but nothing more advanced then that. I'm having an issue where it appears the controller isn't getting power from the battery. I can also confirm that when plugged in via usb or the port on the bottom the battery isn't being charged. The controller isn't recognized by my PS4 nor PC.  I have tested the battery on another controller and it works fine so I'm assuming the issue is with the board itself. I've also swapped out the charge port but no go.  How would I go about troubleshooting this? Please bare with me as I'm new to the more advanced side of things.

Offline RDC

• Administrator
  • Around the block
  • Post quality +90/-2
  • The CGnome Project
Re: JDM-055 Power Issue
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2020, 04:53:49 PM »
You picked are a real winner to learn on there. ;)

There is a fuse on the JDS board (The USB/LED board) though I'd suspect it's not the issue if it will also not charge from the EXT port or be recognized when plugged in over USB.

The not charging could be the S2PG001A is bad, seems to be more and more common of a part to fail on those, and the only place you'll find another one is from a working controller.

https://www.acidmods.com/forum/index.php/topic,44549.msg334971.html#msg334971

The USB not working could mean the MCU is shot, since there isn't but a few parts from the connector to the MCU when it comes to the data lines (microUSB connector, common mode choke on the JDS board, connector, flex cable, connector, common mode choke on motherboard, 2 Resistors then the MCU) and really no point in going down that road as again it would have to come from a working controller.