Author Topic: Dualsense analog trace location.  (Read 623 times)

Offline bela lugosi

• Guppy
  • Post quality +0/-0
  • Acidmods User
Dualsense analog trace location.
« on: April 19, 2021, 04:19:53 PM »
Hello. So I've replaced the left analog stick with some success, after that, the analog position seemed to change to the upper left position. Upon measuring the analog potentiometer, it's about 10 less than the right, working stick. So i tried following the traces and came to this point where i can't find where it goes, it seems to go under the board. It should probably be a capacitor right? as if it was a resistor it'd probably be higher voltage than the right stick. Please correct me if I'm wrong, I'm completely new to this.

https://imgur.com/a/LgpOXbD

I can take a picture of my board for further inspection, this is an example.
« Last Edit: April 19, 2021, 06:08:48 PM by bela lugosi »

Offline RDC

• Administrator
  • Around the block
  • Post quality +90/-2
  • The CGnome Project
Re: Dualsense analog trace location.
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2021, 06:12:55 PM »
It's about 10 less what?

There are no Caps or Resistors in or on the Analog lines for the Sticks, they go straight to the MCU, and it's a 6 layer PCB, so you can't see where a lot of that stuff goes, unless you completely strip one down layer by layer.

If it is stuck in the Up/Left position, that would mean both Analog lines were shorted to ground, that's not usually the case, or that the 1.8v for the POTs on that Stick is missing.
« Last Edit: April 19, 2021, 06:14:11 PM by RDC »
Screwing up is one of the best learning tools, so long as the only thing you're not learning is how to screw up.

Offline bela lugosi

• Guppy
  • Post quality +0/-0
  • Acidmods User
« Reply #2 on: April 19, 2021, 06:57:05 PM »
Hi, it's not up left to the extreme, just a little bit out of center position. Right Analog Stick reads 0.85v and Left Analog stick reads 0.95v. Both on neutral position. It should be the same, right?