Author Topic: Questions regarding use of PSP SIO interface.  (Read 1287 times)

Offline insomniadmx

• Guppy
  • Post quality +0/-0
  • Acidmods User
Questions regarding use of PSP SIO interface.
« on: June 21, 2009, 03:06:14 PM »
I've got a few questions regarding the PSP's SIO port. I've done a LOT of research on hardware mods for the PSP as of late and I've got a few ideas for a mod of my own.

Before anyone asks, I do think I am up to all the work I'm getting into; I'm an electrical engineering undergrad and I'm currently working a holistic job in embedded systems (including plenty of fun with the RS232 features of a PIC 18). I figured that since the PSP's SIO interface practically is RS232, I won't have much trouble with that.

I want to make a circuit that performs several functions in one: Keyboard input, mouse input, and composite video output. That's the plan at least.

Keyboard should be easy. I've seen a lot of mods that involve PS/2 keyboards, but PS/2 keyboards are mostly less portable and need to be under 50mA to be up to spec (so I assume they draw somewhere near 50mA). I have a better idea. I've got a fried laptop lying around and it's got a very nice keyboard. The ribbon cable coming out of it is connected directly to the keyboard's matrix circuit, so I figure I could use a MCU to parse the keyboard directly instead of using one to communicate with a keyboard containing a MCU of its own. That should take less current and hopefully eliminate the need to step up the SIO's 2.5v to TTL logic levels (supposedly the PIC18F4520 that I might buy can run on voltage as low as 2v). If that won't work, I might look into getting some kind of CMOS MCU instead of a PIC.

I might look into connecting that laptop's nub joystick as well, depending on if I can figure out how it works. I'd try to control that with the same PIC as the keyboard (there are more than two ADC modules in this MCU, which facilitates this)